Happy New Year!

2016 is coming to a close. And even though I should be studying my law lessons right now instead of writing this article, I wanted to take a moment out of my very boring, very tiring and hectic schedule to do a retrospective of this year.

One thing we can all agree on is that 2016 was undoubtedly the year of celeb deaths.

We had to say goodbye to legends such as Muhamed Ali, David Bowie or George Michael…to name a few.

We witnessed some poignant & saddening disappearances such as the mother-daughter duo of Carrie Fisher & Debbie Reynolds.

We also shed a tear over Alan Rickman’s departure from earth. The man who has impacted my childhood as the scary and ruthless professor Snape. That one really hurt me.

Another one that really hurt was Prince’s death. The singer who has made us dream of laughing and bathing in his purple rain has left us crying and hurting over his sudden death. And to this day, I can’t listen to his songs without shedding a tear in remembrance of the genius he was.

They say “The best always go first”. Indeed they do.

To you all legends, may you all rest in eternal peace.

2016 was also the year of political turmoil.

Although it wasn’t supposed to be…

Indeed, the year started strong. And hopeful. And Female.

It started with Hillary Clinton and ended with Donald Trump.

How did we get to this result? To this day, it still baffles my mind.

Maybe it was because of Russia?

Oh, Russia… Another subject. Another political turmoil. One that will no doubt carry through 2017 and probably through the upcoming 4 years. Thanks America…

Of course, 2016 also carried its fair share of fear strikes and terrorist attacks.

Paris.

Turkey.

Belgium.

Orlando.

Tunisia.

Berlin.

Syria.

Too many people gone too soon. Too many innocent souls caught in the crossfire of a war they are not fighting. Too many blood, too many tears, too many cries of hopelessness and fear.

To the millions of these victims, humanity is sorry and the world is full of regrets. May you all rest in eternal peace as well.

Personally, 2016 was the year I grew up. The year I matured. The year I became independent and started spreading my wings.

It was the year of new adventures and of learning experiences.

It was the year of many downs but also of many ups.

Of disappointing moments and beautiful, hopeful ones.

In 2016, I cried my eyes out and laughed to my heart’s content.

I moved out to a new country, Moved in with my best friend, Started college, paid bills for the first time in my life and cried over having to pay bills for the first time in my life, met new people and reconnected with old ones, painted the town red with my friends until the crack of dawn and had to wake up early the next day to study, missed my family back home and felt great pain over it, had the best summer of my life… Became an adult.

2016 was the year I lived, I laughed and I cried.

But most of all 2016 was the year I learned.

It was the year I learned the meaning of life.

And no doubt will my learning continue in 2017…

Farewell year 2016! You sure could’ve been better but you weren’t so bad after all.

And cheers to 2017!

Leave a Reply

