Paris State Of Mind

Before I start this article let me first breathe a sigh of relief for making it home after a 10 hours bus ride. I honestly thought my back & neck won’t survive the journey but by some miracle, I am now at home in one piece. My back & neck still hurt though but they’re holding on. Thank god.

After 10 days in Paris, I am now back in Toulouse, home.

While I was skeptical at first about all the hype surrounding Paris -because I am clearly a stupid person- after 10 days spent in the Parisian jungle, I can honestly say that I’ve fallen in love with the city. And it happened so fast & so unexpectedly. It was like I woke up one morning under the spell of the city of lights.

While I spent most of my time in the 5th district surrounded by prestigious universities such as La Sorbonne, outstanding schools such as Henri IV and Louis Le Grand and most importantly The Pantheon which is this impressive secular mausoleum containing the remains of distinguished French citizens such as Emile Zola, Victor Hugo and Rousseau to name a few, I realized that…

Paris is a city of ghosts.

All those writers and poets and politicians and scientists that forged the city still live in it. Their memory is for ever flaming, their souls, roaming the city almost guarding it.

While eating at a restaurant adjacent to a building where Paul Verlaine spent his last days and watching the eclectic people of Paris come and go, I realized that Paris is a beautiful recollection of History. Yet it gives you an interesting and exciting look into the future and it allows you to fully live in the present. It’s frozen in time yet consonant with modernity and progress.

Paris is more than just a city. It’s a world.

Of course the Eiffel Tour is beautiful. The Arc De Triomphe is majestic standing in the centre of Place Charles De Gaulles. The Gallerie Lafayette are tempting for a shopping spree. The pyramid of the Louvre a welcomed attraction. And I would be lying if I said I didn’t go to all those places. But those places didn’t capture my heart. Because those places aren’t the heart of Paris.

The heart of Paris is what’s hidden in it. It’s all the places that you discover when you get lost in the city. Try getting lost in the city. It’s the best feeling in the world. It’s the most beautiful place to get lost into.

There’s an aura about Paris. The city takes a life on its own.

And If I ever doubted Audrey Hepburn’s words, I now know for sure that Paris is and will always be a good idea. Always.

Goodbye to you enchanting city.

Here’s to us meeting again soon…

Leave a Reply

