Dear Self…

Hang on. Stay strong. Keep working hard. Keep dreaming big. Don’t give up.

Don’t you ever give up!

I know things may seem hard lately. I know you feel hopeless & kind of discouraged. I know you are hurting & doubting. I know you are tired of faking a smile all day long. I know you are crying at night. I know you think you’ll never succeed. I know you think that everyone is better than you. I know you want to give up on your dreams. I know you’re tired. I feel it.

But still, don’t give up! Please do not give up.

Don’t give up because I know you’ll regret it someday. I know you, self. I know how you think. I know how you function.

Somedays you’re the happiest person on earth. You are genuinely smiling & unapologetically laughing. Your eyes are brimming with happiness & contentment. You look around you & you are grateful for your life, with all of  its ups & all of its downs. In those days, I know that you love hard work. Even if you complain non-stop about it. I know you love to be challenged & to finish the day completely & utterly drained. Those days, when you lay in bed, you are happy. You are content. You are tired but it’s a good tired. It’s an I’m happy tired. It’s an I lived this day to its fullest tired.

Other days, however, you become the saddest person on earth. You are gloomy. Your smile turns into a frown. Your laugh is bitter. Your eyes are dull, withered & glistening with tears. You look around you & you wish that you had another life. You wish that you could be alone. You wish that everyone would disappear & leave you alone. In those days, you don’t even think about working. You don’t even think about being challenged. You don’t even think about your dreams. All you want is to be left alone. All you want is to sleep the day away. To forget about everything & everyone. And I know, self, that you’ve been having a lot of these days lately. So many of these days that you’re starting to forget the good ones even existed.

Don’t forget, self. The good ones existed. They still do. They always will. They are waiting for you. Go & cease them. Reach out to them & live them. To their fullest.

Don’t they say “it gets worse before it gets better”? I believe in these words. Do you, self? Do you believe in these words as well? Please do. Or at least try to believe in them. For me. Because I’m tired of living in your darkness, self. I want to see the light. I want to feel the warmth of the sun. I want to dream big & work hard. I want to soar high & if I crash I want to crash on a bed of soft cottony pink clouds. Because I wouldn’t be the only one to believe that everything is going to be alright. Because you would be right there with me, self.

I need you, self. I need you to be on the same page with me. I need you to take my hand so we can wander together. So we can discover new things & experience new thrills in life. So we can achieve those dreams we’ve been talking about forever.

Don’t be afraid, self. I know life can be frightening & intimidating & tiring & hard. Life is the biggest bitch of all. But it’s also the most beautiful gift we will ever receive,self. You love gifts don’t you? So let’s enjoy this gift of life together, self.

Don’t be afraid. Come out to the light. I’m waiting for you to start this journey together.

Let us finally start living for us, self. Let us soar high in the sky. Let us BE. For life is short & moments are precious. Don’t waste your precious moments, self. Enjoy them.

And remember, I will always love you. No matter what. You are worth it, self.

Leave a Reply

