Dear Kerry Washington…

 

 

Dear Kerry,

I love you.

Oh wow. I don’t know where that came from. It’s like my fingers were typing the words before my mind even had a chance to register what they were typing.

But it’s true though. I do love you and you don’t even know I exist. Oh glory. Somehow, this summarizes my love life. I know, sad.

Anyways, I love you and I admire you and I look up to you for literally everything.

You are my role model.

And somehow, you being my role model is unexpected too. I’ve always been the kind of person to think :

“I don’t need another person to inspire me on how to live my life”.

But then I watched Scandal. And I discovered you. And then, I heard your speeches & read your interviews. I saw you on awards season brilliantly working the red carpet. I followed you on twitter, Instagram, facebook and everytime you posted something on social media my heart lept out of my chest. It still does.

In a short amount of time you’ve turned this skeptical, non believer into one of your “stans”. One of your admirers. And you did all that without even knowing about it!

How.freaking.dope.is.that!

You’ve had such an impact on me & my life that I want in this open letter to simply thank you.

I want to thank you for being passionate about your work & always giving your best, never giving up. For a struggling college student, that’s a valuable lesson.

Thank you for your kindness, your smile and your sense of humor. It’s an effective and free healer for bad days, mood swings & every kind of negativity. And god knows I have a lot of that.

Thank you for your commitment & your genuine concern with what’s going on in the world. Thank you for being an advocate for the humanity, for believing in everyone’s rights & enhancing everyone’s dreams & hopes & opportunities. Your speeches always echoes in everyone’s ears days after you’ve delivered them. Quotes such as “The world needs your story because the world needs your voice” , “In the real world the only norm is uniqueness” or “You & you alone are the only person who can live the life that can write the story that you were meant to tell” often times give me the strength to keep working hard, to keep dreaming & to not be afraid of my dreams, to not be afraid to speak up & get out of my comfort zone & that has been something I’ve been working on for quite some time & it’s still a work in progress.

Thank you for playing the role of Olivia Pope so brilliantly. I confess that Scandal played a big part in my decision of pursuing law studies. Being well into my first year of law now, having already experienced sleepless nights, thought a million times “I will never get through it” & often times made the library my second home .. I may eventually despise Scandal. Just a friendly warning. I guess I’ve always thought about Olivia Pope’s success & dismissed the journey she went through to get to that point in her life. And boy does that journey kick your ass. But I’m being strong. I’m holding on … By a thin thread but holding on nonetheless. I love it though. So I guess that’s good news.

Last but not least, Thank you for existing. I’m saying this because today is your birthday. And you might find this borderline creepy –I found this totally creepy- but I’m so grateful for your existence. You’ve had an impact on A LOT of people. You’ve brought people together. You’ve reconciled people with themselves. You’ve helped people find purpose in their life. And again, without even knowing. That definitely gives you the title of Kween of dope *fist pump emoji*

Anyways, today is your day & I celebrate you. WE celebrate YOU. I wish you a very happy birthday and a great year ahead. God knows you deserve every great thing in this world.

Because …

You are dope. You are amazing. You are inspiring. You are witty. You are intelligent. You are spirited. You are brilliant. You are talented. You are funny. You are cute. You are beautiful. You are genuine. You are kind. You are a breath of fresh air. You are you. And we love you for YOU!

Happy birthday Queen.

Your stan, for now & forever,

S.

Leave a Reply

