Fear & Bombs won’t break our bones!

 I wrote this on November 24th when a suicide bomber blew himself on a bus in Tunisia causing the death of 15 innocent people on their way back from work. 

Tunisia is the country that has started the Arab Spring back in 2011. Ever since, the country has been trying to free itself from the skeletons of its past. A past bearing the marks of unemployment, poverty, deceitfulness, robbery from the governement. Dictatorship.

The 27th of January 2014 a new constitution has been adopted. On December 21st of the same year the tunisian people elected Beji Caid Essebsi as their president. Finally on October 9th, 2015 the Tunisian National dialogue quartet received the Nobel peace prize. 

However, ever since 2011 the country has also been the target of many terrorist attacks. 

Tonight, I’m crying for my Tunisia.

I’m screaming for my Tunisia.

I’m bleeding for my Tunisia.

I’m angry for my Tunisia.

But above all, tonight, I’m writing for my Tunisia.

I’m writing about my Tunisia.

Tunisia the little country. The beautiful country. The fearless country.

Tunisia the country of hope, of liberty, of independence.

Tunisia, the country of the Arab Spring.

Tunisia & its dirty & smelly streets, its cranky people, its crazy drivers, its insolent yet fiery & ambitious youth.

Tunisia is a country that makes you fall in love with all of its flaws because that’s part of its beauty.

When you fall in love with this country, you fall in love with all of it, wholly, passionately, irremediably. You fall in love with its sandy beaches in the summer & its rainy days in the winter. You fall in love with the smell of Jasmin & the sound of crickets singing till the crack of dawn. You fall in love with its crazy weather & its 6 months long summer. You fall in love with its street vendors waking you up at 7am touring every neighborhood. You fall in love with its people, their big hearts, their warm smiles, their generous selves & even their attitude.

Tunisia is a whole world, a small world. It is MY small world. Where I first opened my eyes, where I took my first steps & uttered my first words. It’s where I met my friends & experienced my first laughs, cries, breakups & make ups, successes & failures. Tunisia is where my home is.

Where my heart belongs.

So Tonight, I’m angry that such a beautiful country is being tarnished by bigoted ignorants. I’m angry that the actions of said fanatics are casting a bad light on the country, turning the revolution of Jasmin into a mockery & making life a harder battle for millions of innocent people who found themselves jobless as soon as that bigoted idiot fired the first bullet.

Although these people, in their moment of disgusting glory felt empowered, manly, winners… What they didn’t know is that you can’t take us down. You can try to break us, you can try to drown us but you will never destroy us!

Tunisia will always shine brighter, laugh harder & live STRONGER.

Tahya Tounes!*

*Long live Tunisia.

8 thoughts on “Fear & Bombs won’t break our bones!

  1. Great post! I haven’t been to Tunisia yet but my Dad visited for a holiday back in 2011 and absolutely loved it. I think it’s important we don’t let terrorists win by ruining our love of travel & exploration.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww I’m glad your dad liked it! It always warms my heart when someones likes my country. I absolutely agree with you! We can’t let them win & this article actually has so much more meaning today as we celebrate 60 years since the independance of Tunisia from France.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this post and have been to your blog several times since we met at my meet and greet a little while back. I just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Liebster Award. No pressure to accept or participate but you can find the details in the link below should you choose to. Just FYI I linked to your blog and this post specifically for people to check out so I hope you get a few extra clicks whether you decide to partake or not 🙂

    https://therichnessofasimplelife.wordpress.com/2016/03/22/liebster-award/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

